The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

“I don’t want to survive, I want to live!” March 15, 2009

Filed under: Brad and Me Plus 3 — Michelle Ferguson @ 8:50 pm

On this rainy, Sunday afternoon, my daughter is at a friend’s house and my baby is napping.  That left my middle child, Logan, with nothing to do.  He and I decided to watch “WALL E” with the works…popcorn!

As we watched, I was struck with a quote in the movie by the Captain when he said, “I don’t want to survive, I want to live!”  Those words took me back to the time when Logan was born.  Lindsay had just turned two, and Brad and I were living four hours from our closest relative.  After family left and Brad went back to work, I had never felt so abandoned, overwhelmed, and helpless in my life!  I really did not know what to do with two babies who were so demanding of my time and services!  Between late nights, middle of the night feedings, entertaining a two year old, laundry, dishes, meal preparation, and trying to keep up my house, I felt out of control.  I remember telling a friend that I simply tried to “survive” each day and if everyone in our home was clean and fed, it was a very good day!

If you find yourself in a similar situation, take heart in God’s word, which is always a source of comfort.  John 10:10 says that Jesus has “come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly.”  He wants us to live life with hope and joy because we were made for more than this world. He wants us to enjoy life, living in the spirit, moment by moment.  He can help us if we ask Him.  He gives us the grace and energy to care for our families in the midst of great fatigue.  If our focus is serving Him, we can experience life at its very best.  Wipe a nose, dry a tear, give a cuddle, read a book, prepare a healthy snack as if serving the Lord and you will be blessed.  This time in your life with infants and toddlers is fleeting, so enjoy your work as a mommy with a new persepective!  Don’t just survive, live abundantly!

 

Leave a Reply

