The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

Magnets for Mess March 18, 2009

Filed under: Brad and Me Plus 3 — Michelle Ferguson @ 9:33 pm

Little boys seem to be magnets for mess!  Whenever I take my boys out, they come home dirty.  The dirt, mud, and dust just jump on them, like a magnetic attraction.  I am convinced that Logan and Luke could play all day in a sterile white room and end up covered in dirt!

For example, a simple outing to the grocery store ended in the very great need for a band aid and a clean shirt.  Logan ran his fingers along a cooler case and cut his finger on a piece of glass.  It bled profusely and we had to ask a cashier for a band aid (I typically keep a stash in my purse, but apparently had used them all up on other emergencies!).

One morning while doing school, I realized Luke was mighty quiet.  I went to check on him in his room and found him covered head to toe in diaper cream.  My first reaction was to laugh and grab the camera.  Then,  I gave him a bath.  Do you know how hard a greasy cream is to clean out of hair??

One Sunday afternoon, Logan ran outside to play in his church clothes before I could remember to tell him to change to play clothes.  It was the first time he had worn his new khaki pants, and he looked so cute!  A couple of hours later, Logan came in with muddy red clay knees and a HOLE in his new pants.  I was not very happy!

Today, I took my children plus a friend to the park.  Well, this adventure ended august-2008-0151 in Luke having to be stripped of his pants, shoes, and socks before getting into the car because he sat in a huge mud puddle.  He couldn’t help it, bless his heart.  He comes by it honestly…his brother is the same way!

When I wash their clothes, I remember how thankful I am that I have my children and that they are healthy enough to run outside and play and get dirty.  As the Bible says, “Children are a gift from the Lord” (Psalm 127:3)  Amen!

 

One Response to “Magnets for Mess”

  1. Karie Calhoun Says:

    Precious! Anderson is the same way. Remember when he jumped in the mud puddles with shoes on and everything. What a mess.


Leave a Reply

