The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

Happy Birthday, Lindsay! April 7, 2009

Filed under: The Ferguson Family — Michelle Ferguson @ 6:46 pm

april-2009 My little girl is nine today!!  It’s been fun to recall with her my memories of her birth day.  I had a regularly schedule doctor’s appointment that morning and was told I was in labor.  I knew I was uncomfortable, but I didn’t really know what was going on.  I was sent home to eat a light lunch and pack a few last minute things, before heading to the hospital.  I remember sitting in the lobby waiting for Brad to park the car.  I thought “I’m going to have a baby today.  I can’t believe the day is finally here!”

My labor was slow to progress, so I was given medicine to bring it on.  We spent our afternoon watching The Masters on television and waiting for the baby to come.  Finally at 10:30pm, Lindsay Kamryn made her grand entrance.  I think she was just waiting for her grandparents to arrive first!  She weighed 7 lbs 4 oz. and was absolutely perfect!

The nurses told me to call them if I wanted them to take Lindsay to the nursery so I could get some sleep.  Desiring to be the competent and wonderful mommy of all time, I decided I wanted to keep my baby in the room with me…too many stories of mixed-up babies that I didn’t want to risk.  I even sent Brad to the nursery with her right after she was born to make sure SHE was the baby returned to us!!  I could handle this newborn!  Well, when Lindsay started exercising her lungs for no reason at all, I gave up and told Brad to call the nursery.  When the nurse answered, Brad said all he could hear in the back ground was other screaming babies!  When she came to wheel Lindsay off, I cried at my lack of ability to calm and handle my own baby!  However, I soon learned that a little sleep goes a long way in your outlook of life!  Sleep for a new mom is a beautiful thing!

Today, I am amazed at how quickly nine years have passed.  I remember a lot of things like they happened yesterday, but the rest of the memories come from what I have journaled in her baby book.  Lindsay is a beautiful girl, inside and out.  She has a sweet and kind spirit along with a compassionate heart.   She is so very precious to me, and I thank the Lord for giving me a daughter, who I celebrate today!

 

One Response to “Happy Birthday, Lindsay!”

  1. Betty Says:

    You’re such a good mom – with a great sense of humor – and the ability to express it all in writing. I enjoy your blogs.


Leave a Reply

