The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

More Hours in my Day? April 16, 2009

Filed under: 1 — Michelle Ferguson @ 12:30 pm

How many times have we wished for more hours in our day?  I can’t help but think that if we could have more hours in our day, we would just fill those hours up with even more things to do.  We already have enough to do!  God ordered our days perfectly with 24 hours for a reason.

I am preparing to travel with my husband to Chicago for a conference next week.  Our children are being dispersed to family members for the week, and I am a busy mommy getting us all ready to go.  Some of the things that have been part of my schedule this week include speaking at a homeschool curriculum sharing event, a doctor’s appointment, a lunch date, having a friend for dinner, a play date, grocery runs, buying a birthday gift, pulling summer clothes out of the attic for my kids, haircuts, a field trip, oh, and getting in a week of school lessons!

On busy days, we may try to justify skipping our quiet times with the Lord because we have so much to do, but I think busy days are all the more reason to NOT skip our time with the Lord.  Seeking Him daily through prayer and Bible reading is what focuses us for the day.  I often pray that God will give me wisdom and discernment to handle whatever may come my way.  Sometimes we are thrown into circumstances that we do not plan on, and He is able to guide us through those times.  Psalm 34: 10b says “those who seek the Lord shall not lack any good thing.”  He wants to help you order your day, and he will give you the strength, grace, and wisdom to get done for the day what is sufficient.  Sometimes that may mean looking at our “TO DO” lists and setting priorities.  Sometimes that may mean saying “no” to something good.

No, I don’t wish for my hours in my day!  Thank you, God, for giving me a new day and help me to live it to your glory!

 

Leave a Reply

