The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

Bird Rescue August 26, 2009

Filed under: The Ferguson Family — Michelle Ferguson @ 6:53 pm

A few weeks ago as I was taking my morning walk, I noticed a cat walking down a driveway and up towards me on the street.  As the cat came closer and passed me, I noticed he had a bird in his mouth.  Being the compassionate animal-lover that I am, I sweetly called to “kitty.”  Kitty, who is  my buddy from previous walks when I’ve stopped to stroke him, was obviously on a mission to finish off his catch and did not stop to acknowledge me.  I followed him to the next driveway where he dropped the bird.  I quickly moved in to pick up the bird and survey the damage.

I noticed the bird’s eyes were bright and alert.  As he looked all around, I noticed a small tail feather that looked askew.  I cupped him in my hand and took him with me.  As I continued my walk,  I didn’t really know what I was going to do with him, so my mind started thinking of all kinds of preparations for when I got him home.  It went something like this:  “Okay, he’ll need a box of some sort to be placed in, but it may need a netting over the top so he can’t hop out or so he won’t get hurt by our cat.  Then, I’ll need to feed him…oh boy, do I really want another thing to feed?  I guess I’ll have to go dig up some of those fat worms my father-in-law brought to us from his leftover fishing bait.  Hmm, maybe a dish of water too?  Where will I keep this box?”

As I’m thinking all this through, I started praying for the little, helpless bird.  I prayed God would take care of Him.  As I rounded the next cul-de-sac, that little bird just took flight and left my hand and flew into a tree!  For about two seconds I was sad, because I wanted my kids to see him.  Then I realized God had answered my prayer!  I did not need to worry any more about how I was going to take care of this bird.  God had it under control the whole time!!  I just love it when God shows me little things like that which serve as an awesome reminder of who He is!!

As I performed a bird rescue that day, I was reminded how God rescued me from my sins by allowing His Son Jesus to die on the cross in my place!  Thank you God for your grace, love, and forgiveness!

 

Leave a Reply

