The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

Moments Like These November 1, 2009

Filed under: Brad and Me Plus 3 — Michelle Ferguson @ 9:16 pm

October 2009 109Last week as I was throwing silverware on the table…I mean setting the table, I spilled Logan’s milk.  I wished I could have blamed it on him, but there was no doubt I was the one who had knocked it over!  (Aren’t we always looking for someone else to blame?)

After dinner that night, I attempted to clean up the kitchen, unload the clean dishes from the dishwasher (I just hate that job!), and put leftovers away.  In the process, I knocked over my glass of water on the counter.  In my frustration to try and do everything quickly, I had made yet another mess.  I left the kitchen and went to lie down on my bed.  I was tired, and it was showing up in my carelessness.

After a few minutes, Brad came upstairs to tell me he had finished cleaning the kitchen (bless that man!) and he was taking Lindsay and Logan with him to church (double bless that man!).  So that left Luke and me home alone.  Luke came into my room and said, “Mommy, I want you to walk with me.”  I was so tired, yet I was compelled to get up in the Lord’s strength and spend time with my youngest son.

October 2009 108He and I headed to a favorite spot, a pond near our house surrounded by woods.  On the way, Luke chattered and carried on about a boat, an airplane, and a “big, big dog.”  He found a penny he carefully placed in his pocket like it was a gold nugget.  We stopped to throw sticks and rocks in the water and watch the ripples form and disappear.  Then we decided to be adventurous and walk down a gravel path that led past some houses.  We saw an old tractor, rocks, and leaves which were fascinating topics for Luke to discuss.

As the sun began to set, we headed home back past the pond.  Luke noticed an animal swimming in the pond and asked me what it was.  I had not even noticed it, so we stopped to watch it.  It was a furry animal, like an otter, but I cannot be sure what it was, as it was getting dark.  We watched for awhile and then left.

It was fun to spend a spontaneous adventure with my three-year old.  He brings such a different perspective to life.  He notices everything and talks about it all!  To think I would have missed the wonder and excitement on his face if I had said, “Not today, Luke, mommy is too tired.”  Thank you, God, for moments like these!

 

One Response to “Moments Like These”

  1. Betty Says:

    That pond and gravel road are special places for your children. I love them. So glad you took that special time. What a blessing.


Leave a Reply

