The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

Dental Woes November 12, 2009

Filed under: Brad and Me Plus 3 — Michelle Ferguson @ 8:54 pm

Did you happen to hear a scream today, oh, around noon?  If so, it was Luke.  He was scheduled for his first dentist apointment this morning.  Let me start from the beginning…

In my hurry to get out of the house with three kids, three pairs of water-proof shoes (“No, Logan, flip flops won’t work on a cold, rainy day.”), and three jackets on the right kid, I forgot my camera.  I always like to catch those “firsts” on camera in the hopes that one day those photos will find their way into an album.

Lindsay and Logan love going to the dentist.  They actually look forward to their appointments.  I don’t know if it’s for the new toothbrush, the stickers, or the balloons…or maybe they just really like having their teeth cleaned!!  When I told Luke Monday we were going to the dentist this week, he asked “Do they have lollipops?”  I explained that the dentist doesn’t promote candy, but I don’t think he understood.  Then he cried, so I didn’t mention the dentist any more until this morning…while grabbing shoes and coats.

He seemed really fine, as there were no tears this time.  However when we arrived at the office and were called back, it was an ugly scene!  Luke cried and screamed, refusing to sit in the chair, open his mouth, or even look at the dental equipment as the very patient hygienist talked with him.  I was getting a little frustrated over his lack of obedience.

Then it hit me!  It’s been not quite two months since his hospitalization for a staph infection.  I think the hygienists in their scrubs, the equipment, and the “medical” atmosphere brought back those memories and caused great anxiety in him.  I immediately gained much sympathy and compassion for him and decided this just was not the day to have his teeth cleaned.  The dentist came into the room and was able to take a quick glance at his teeth, but that happened with him on my lap, holding his arms down.

On the way out, he got his balloon, sticker, and toothbrush and was a happy camper again.  I didn’t need my camera after all!  We will try again in six months!

 

Leave a Reply

