The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

Patience is a Virtue November 15, 2009

Filed under: Brad and Me Plus 3 — Michelle Ferguson @ 8:23 pm

When people find out that I home school my children, the most frequent response I receive is something like this:  “Oh, I could never home school my children.  I don’t have the patience for that!”  Let me be clear, sister, I’m not patient either!  I want my children to perfectly understand everything I teach them the first time and not have to continually repeat the same instructions day after day and week after week and month after month.  Is that reality?  No!

Patience is one of the fruit of the spirit.  Galatians 5:22 says, “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self control; against such things there is no law.”  I’ve often heard the advice “Don’t ever pray for patience.”  The meaning being that if you pray for patience, God is going to give it to you by testing your patience.  Funny as that is on the human level, God cannot truly teach us patience and refine us if we are not willing to be put in situations where our patience can grow.  And believe me, you would think in our fifth year of homeschooling, I’d have made great strides with my many opportunites to grow in the area of patience, but God’s still working on that in me!  Just like my children, I am a work in progress!

I am not going to give up praying for patience.  I will persevere in my prayers for patience…and then patiently wait for Him to do His work in me!

 

Leave a Reply

