The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

Quick Fixes December 2, 2009

Filed under: Brad and Me Plus 3 — Michelle Ferguson @ 11:00 pm

I’m always looking for quick, healthy, yummy lunch ideas for my kids!  Peanut butter and jelly sandwiches get boring!  I’m going to share some of our favorite quick fixes!

English Muffin Pizzas:  Split a whole wheat english muffin, spread Newman’s Own Marinara pasta sauce on both halves and sprinkle with mozzarella cheese.  Bake until cheese melts.

Cheese Quesadillas:  Put 1 Tbsp olive oil in frying pan, place medium sized whole wheat tortilla on top of oil, sprinkle with cheese, and cook until tortilla crisps and cheese melts.  Sometimes I also add pre-cooked chicken!

Sometimes for lunch, we just do what I call “snackies.”  It might include cheese and crackers, baby carrots, sliced apples, cottage cheese, or yogurt.  The kids also enjoy peanut butter and honey sandwiches.  Logan even enjoys tuna sandwiches every now and then.

When I was a little girl, my mother used to make cream cheese and pineapple sandwiches for me, and I absolutely loved them.  Luke is not a big fan of sandwiches, so when we have deli meat, I will give him that rolled up around a piece of cheese.  He likes turkey and nitrate-free turkey bologna.  Annie’s macaroni and cheese is always a hit, too!

Now, what’s for dinner?

 

Leave a Reply

