The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

Lost Treasure January 3, 2010

Filed under: Tips and Tidbits — Michelle Ferguson @ 6:45 pm

As we usher in a new year, we start thinking about resolutions.  You know, those things we want to change or improve in our lives, like getting organized, working on a character trait, or learning a new skill.  My husband says he used to make New Year’s resolutions, but he doesn’t anymore because they don’t work for him!

Maybe we moms could add journaling to our resolutions.  When my children were really little, they would say the funniest things!  A lot of those things I wrote down.  It’s fun to go back and read and share those funnies with my kids.  Just that small remembrance of a conversation brings back such memories to me!  Here are a few of their funny moments.

Almost three years ago, we had our last home on the market.  I had a six-year old, a four-year old, and a five-month old.  After it sold and after having to leave the house on a moment’s notice with the house in tip top shape, Lindsay remarked, “I’m glad we sold our house.  We don’t have to keep it clean anymore.”

One night at our dinner table during devotions, my husband asked Logan, the name of Daniel’s friends.  He helped him with the first two saying, “Shadrach, Meshach, and…”  Logan replied, “Amigo!”

One morning I served our five-year-old Logan slightly burned French toast for breakfast.  Logan took one look at his plate and exclaimed with excitement, “Is this chocolate?”

In the midst of breaking Luke of his pacifier, I encouraged him with these words:  “Big boys don’t need pacifiers.”  Well, to that he replied, “I’m a baby!”

These precious memories would be lost treasure if I did not write them down.  My brain is so busy handling every day life, that I know I could never remember all of these cute things.  Take time to journal your children’s memories.  They will thank you one day!

 

One Response to “Lost Treasure”

  1. Betty Says:

    Your bloggies are such FUN to read! Thanks!


Leave a Reply

