The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

What Goes In January 20, 2010

Filed under: Laughter and Lessons — Michelle Ferguson @ 12:02 am

Logan has a habit of putting objects into his mouth and chewing on them.  Now, I’m not talking about food!  During school today, I saw him chewing bits of his pencil eraser off and I stopped and asked him, “What is supposed to go into your mouth?”  (We have had MANY discussions of the like.)  Logan matter-of-factly replied, “Food and dessert.”  I had to laugh because I was expecting the answer of “food and drink.”  I guess he thinks dessert is pretty important!

Likewise, we need to be careful what goes into our children’s hearts!  As parents, it is our responsibility to protect our children.  No one else is going to do that for us!  Be tuned in to what shows your children watch on television, what music they listen to, what internet sites they visit, what magazines they peruse, and certainly know who their friends are!  All these venues serve to influence our children for the good or for the bad, and we need to be aware of these. We’ve all heard the phrase “What goes in is what comes out,”  and it’s so true.

God’s word declares in Psalm 101:2b-3 “I will walk within my house with a perfect heart.  I will set nothing wicked before my eyes.”  May that be the testimony of our homes!

 

Leave a Reply

