The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

Reminders January 27, 2010

Filed under: The Ferguson Family — Michelle Ferguson @ 6:50 pm

I had to laugh this morning when I walked into my laundry room and nearly tripped over a basket of dirty clothes.  I vaguely recognized that basket as being from MY closet!  Was my husband sending me a message by bringing it downstairs?  Maybe he was just trying to be helpful when he saw a need.  I don’t know, but I thought it was funny!  Mine and Brad’s clothes are now washed and in the dryer!

Sometimes we need reminders, no matter how subtle or not so subtle they may be!  Reminders to spend quiet time with the Lord, to send a note of thanks or encouragement to a friend, to speak a kind word (when really what we want to say might not be so kind!), to call a parent, to mend a relationship, to not participate in gossip, and on and on.

I had a wonderful group of like-minded homeschooling moms to my home last night.  We laughed, shared, and read Scripture.  It was refreshing to be with such wonderful women in the Lord.  I was reminded during that time that I cannot do any task (including homeschooling) in and of myself.  It’s the Lord who does it through me.  He is teaching me patience and total dependence on Him.  My whole purpose in everything I do is to glorify God, and I cannot do that if I am impatient and continually frustrated with my children.

I set time aside to refocus on my mission in Scripture.  My mission at this season of my life is to support and love my husband and children and to pour life into them.  Isaiah 26:3 says “You will keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on You.”  Thank you, Lord, for the reminder!

Now…off to fold laundry!

 

Leave a Reply

