The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

“Be of Good Courage” February 15, 2010

Filed under: Devotions — Michelle Ferguson @ 12:20 pm

“Be of good courage, and He shall strengthen your heart,                                                    all you who hope in the Lord.”  Psalm 31:24

I am taking part in Rachel Olsen’s Devotional Carnival today on LOVE.  Rachel is the editor of Proverbs 31 Ministries’ online devotional called “Encouragement for Today.”    Please check out Rachel’s blog and enjoy getting to know her!

Every person needs and desires to be loved, and one way to show love is through encouragement.  We live in a very discouraging world.  News headlines are proof of that!  However, there is nothing like a word spoken at just the right time to lift and refresh one’s spirit, especially when it’s to or from someone with whom we are the closest.

Last week, as I prayed for my husband Brad, I asked that God would encourage him specifically through a note, a phone call, or a kind word from someone.  It was one of those weeks where the bad seemed to outweigh the good, and I knew my man needed an encouraging word, so I prayed.

The next morning as I was about to begin home school lessons with my children, I was unexpectedly sidetracked and drawn to my Bible.  I usually read my Bible at another time of day, but I opened my Bible to Psalm 31 and read it through.  The last verse struck me like a lightening bolt on a sunny day!  It was along the lines of what I had prayed “someone” would share with my husband.  “Be of good courage, and He shall strengthen your heart, all you who hope in the Lord.”  God impressed upon my heart to share that verse with my husband, so I composed the following e-mail to him, typing the verse out first:

“Be encouraged, God has great plans!  Cling to Him because He’s all we’ve got!”

I hit the send button and then ran upstairs to start school with my patiently waiting children.  At lunch I checked my e-mail, and received a reply from my husband.  It said this in part:

“That’s exactly what I needed this morning.  I got misty-eyed.”

I believe I was the one encouraged!  I had been praying for “someone” to encourage my husband, but it was me the Lord was using to do the job through the power of His Word!  He knew Brad needed that word at that moment.  God reminded me that part of my job as Brad’s wife is to encourage him.  Wives have an extra special influence on their husbands.  Our words can build them up or tear them down.  The world does enough beating down, so let’s make sure when our husbands come home, we are pouring life, love, and God’s Word into them.  Encouragement is one ingredient of love, and that makes for a happy marriage!

 

5 Responses to ““Be of Good Courage””

  1. Sharon Says:

    Love that story! We all need encouragement! I pray each day that God would send pure encouragers to my children and hubby. And we are their primary encourager in the Lord!!!

    Thank you!

  2. Rachel Olsen Says:

    What a great example of a loving, praying, encouraging wife in action. Good lessons here! 🙂

    Thansk for participating ~ Rachel

  3. Amy Carroll Says:

    Michelle! I was reading through Rachel’s list and saw your name. I love your devotion and the reminder to be our husband’s encourager.

    Hugs to your family!

    Amy

  4. Michelle, as a homeschool mom, I can so relate to the Lord telling me… “wait a moment on the lesson. I’m speaking through you”. Listening is love. Thanks!

  5. Pam Says:

    Michelle, I loved the message of your devotional : ) Encouragement is such an important part of our daily journey. My husband is certainly a modern-day Barnabus giving encouragement any way he can to whomever he can. However, there are times when even the encouragers need a lift. Just yesterday morning I specifically asked the Lord to send some much needed encouragement to my husband. The Lord is listening and will give his children what they need when they need it. He came home and told me how the Lord had sent someone to speak a word of encouragement to him, and it was just what he needed. Sometimes the Lord uses me to encourage my husband, but I love it when he provides the right person for the right moment. Thanks for sharing your heart!


Leave a Reply

