The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

Get Lost February 20, 2010

Filed under: Brad and Me Plus 3 — Michelle Ferguson @ 2:41 pm

As I attempted to bathe my three-year-old last night, it was obvious that he wanted nothing more than to just play in the tub.  I grabbed a leg and ran the washcloth quickly over it.  Then I tried to turn him around on his back so I could wash his belly.  He kept pulling, twisting, and tugging away from me.  Finally, he looked at me in all seriousness and asked, “Could you go do some laundry or something, or put your pajamas on?”  I wondered “Had my son just told me to ‘Get lost’ in his own little way?”

Typically, our night time routine is rushed, and I try to get Luke in and out of the tub as quickly as possible.  When Brad does the bathing, his motto is “I’m all business.”  However, last night, Luke reminded me of the importance of play.  There is going to be a day when he will not even want to be in the tub and it will be more of a chore to him.

So I did allow Luke to play last night until the water chilled and he started to shiver!  He did get clean and he did enjoy his play time!  My children are growing up too fast, and I want them to enjoy their childhood to the fullest.  It is the most wonderful and carefree time of life!  So play, Luke, play!

 

One Response to “Get Lost”

  1. Sandra Says:

    Loved this, Michelle. Wasn’t Luke just born?


Leave a Reply

