The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

Latest Read March 4, 2010

Filed under: Parenting with Purpose — Michelle Ferguson @ 6:26 pm

I love to read, and sometimes I’ve been known to read several books at once.  Right now there are seven books stacked up on my nightstand patiently waiting their turn to be my latest read!  On top of all those is the book I am currently reading, Dr. Kevin Leman’s “Have a New Kid by Friday.”  I ordered this book out of sheer desperation!  If I can borrow a book from the library, that is my first choice.  However with this book, I felt I needed my very own copy so I could underline handy information and have it near for reference.

Dr. Leman is a Christian speaker and author who has raised five children with his wife.  “Have a New Kid by Friday” has proven to be a laugh-out-loud description of MY kids!  It’s like Dr. Leman has been secretly observing our family.  His no nonsense approach to parenting is refreshing.

I can so relate to his description of children who get out of bed to get attention after they’ve just been put to bed, children who suddenly need something when mom gets on the phone, and older kids that send the youngest  “as an advance scout (page 155).”  He gives practical tips on how to parent these little ones in order to teach them responsibility, kindness, respect, and obedience.

Dr. Leman shares advice on how to change your child’s Attitude, Behavior, and Character (ABC’s).  It requires molding their ABC’s by process of modeling our ABC’s.  That may mean some soul searching on the parents’ behalf to change an attitude, behavior, or characteristic that might not be worth modeling.  Ouch!  Dr. Leman also suggests that parents do too much for their kids in the way of reminding them constantly and protecting them from themselves.  Ouch again!  “Sometimes they need to experience the consequences of their decisions…Reality can be a very wonderful teacher (page 178).”

“Have a New Kid by Friday” is a great read, and I highly recommend it.  Have your pen handy!

 

Leave a Reply

