The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

Homemade Hamburger Buns March 6, 2010

Filed under: Recipes Worth Sharing — Michelle Ferguson @ 10:52 pm

Tonight I made homemade hamburger buns for dinner.  The beautiful, warm, sunny day made all of us crave hamburgers on the grill.  I came across the recipe, printed it, and it had been sitting on my desk all week.  My son and my husband both mentioned to me how good the picture of the homemade buns looked, so I thought I’d give it a whirl.

I enjoy making meals from scratch, but I’d never attempted homemade bread before.  The recipe is simple and the ingredients few, although I did have to run back to the grocery store for additional active dry yeast.  The recipe made 30 buns, so I will have some to freeze for later.  The whole process of making my dough took about thirty minutes and then each batch of buns cooked for ten minutes.

When I took the buns from the oven, I was so pleased with how they really looked like hamburger buns!  The bakery smell throughout my house was an added bonus!  I don’t know if I will ever go back to store bought buns!  Delicious!

Here’s the recipe:

3 1/2 cups warm water

1 cup olive oil

1/2 cup raw honey

6 Tbsp active dry yeast

1 Tbsp sea salt

3 eggs, beaten

10 1/2 cups organic, unbleached wheat flour (can use white flour or a combination of both)

Combine first four ingredients and allow to rest 15 minutes.  Mixture will get bubbly.  Then add remaining ingredients and mix.  Knead dough for 5 minutes.  Roll out to 1/2″ thick and cut into circles immediately.  I use the ring from a wide mouth Mason jar.   Preheat oven to 425 degrees and let cut buns rise on baking sheet 10 minutes.  Then bake buns for 10 minutes.  After cooling, slice buns in half.

 

Leave a Reply

