The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

Confetti Waffles March 11, 2010

Filed under: Recipes Worth Sharing — Michelle Ferguson @ 10:14 pm

Last week I was invited to a brunch hosted by a friend.  It was a spontaneous gathering and so much fun!  When I arrived, one of the ladies was making waffles in a waffle iron.  She called them Confetti Waffles because she added her own mixture of nuts and raisins to the batter.  The mix made the waffles very hearty, healthy and yummy!

So, Sunday night I had a little bit of time and I made my own Confetti Waffles, doubling the recipe.  To my homemade batter, I added pecans and dried cranberries.  You can also add other nuts (walnuts, cashews, etc), dates, or raisins.

My heart shaped waffle iron made about eight large waffles, which I split into their individual heart shapes for a great kid-sized breakfast.  My freezer is stocked with Confetti Waffles, which makes for a nice, quick breakfast that my kids can fix themselves…heat and eat!  They enjoy covering their waffles in pure maple syrup or agave nectar.  Delicious!

 

Leave a Reply

