The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

Easter Resurrection Rolls April 2, 2010

Filed under: Recipes Worth Sharing — Michelle Ferguson @ 9:41 pm

I am a multi-tasker.  When I talk on the phone, chances are I’m also folding laundry, making dinner, wiping a nose, or retrieving my wandering cat from the neighbor’s yard!  As I talked with my best friend today, I was mixing up a homemade chocolate birthday cake for my daughter!  If I can multi-task, I feel like I’m using my time more efficiently!  So, here’s a multi-tasking idea involving the whole family in the kitchen, while teaching the Easter story at the same time!  Nothing is better than talking about Jesus while cooking!  The following is a recipe I came across in the Proverbs31 Woman magazine (April 2004) for Easter Resurrection Rolls.

1 pkg crescent rolls

1 large marshmallow for each roll

melted butter

sugar and cinnamon mixture

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Give each person a triangle of crescent roll dough.  This represents the cloth that Jesus was wrapped in.  Give each person a marshmallow, which represents Jesus.  Dip the marshmallow into the melted butter (representing the oil of embalming) and then into the sugar and cinnamon mixture (representing the spices used to annoint the body).  Tightly wrap the marshmallow inside the crescent roll, sealing it shut.  Pinch the seams together so there are no openings.  This represents the wrapping of Jesus’ body for burial after His death.  Place the rolls on an ungreased cookie sheet and put into the oven.  The oven represents the tomb.  Bake for approximately 10-12 minutes (pretend it has been three days).

Remove the rolls from the oven and allow them to cool slightly.  Now the children can open their rolls (the burial cloth) and discover the Jesus is no longer there!  HE IS RISEN!  The sweet taste is a reminder of His sweet sacrifice for us!  Happy Easter!

When I taught second grade Sunday School, we would make this recipe in class every Easter Sunday.  It was a big hit with the children!

 

One Response to “Easter Resurrection Rolls”

  1. Lynn Brown Says:

    Thank you for sharing this. A great Bibical truth with hands on experience.


Leave a Reply

