The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

Like a Kiss April 20, 2010

Filed under: Parenting with Purpose — Michelle Ferguson @ 7:50 pm

My husband and I are firm believers in spanking our children.  I know this is going to make some people mad, but we believe it is biblical.  Certainly, the method of discipline is different for each family because it is a personal conviction, and I respect that.  One note, though:  we do not spank for every offense!  That’s where godly discernment comes in!

Throughout Proverbs, Christians are admonished to discipline their children.  “Foolishness is bound up in the heart of a child;  the rod of correction will drive it far from him” (Proverbs 22:15).  “Correct your son, and he will give you rest;  yes, he will give delight to your soul” (Proverbs 29:17).  There is a fine line between foolishness and childishness, so make sure you discipline only for the foolishness.  For example, hitting (foolishness) should be corrected, but not an accidental spilling of a glass of milk (childishness).

Spanking, when done in a biblical manner, is quite effective in changing behavior.  The right manner includes never spanking out of or in anger, telling your child how many swats he will receive before it is administered, always pointing out his sin, not only against you, but against God, praying together, and hugging your child and telling him you love him.  (For more on this, I highly recommend Tedd Tripp’s book “Shepherding a Child’s Heart.”)  Discipline like this has an impact, and your child will remember it.  Your child does not want to be out of a harmonious relationship with you, so make sure you reinforce your love for him with a hug.

One day while riding in the car, Logan commented out of the blue to me:  “A spanking is like a kiss.”  I thought that was so introspective, and I told Logan that I agreed with him.  Biblical discipline is sweet!

 

One Response to “Like a Kiss”

  1. Wow. I never thought of spanking like that before. I got spanked! Thankfully I learned from it, and the spankings stopped. But I never thought about: spank for foolishness, not for childishness. Makes perfect sense to me. And then the ending with a hug is a great idea.

    I’m not a parent yet, but I’ve been reading up on parenting. I plan on making that journey in the next few years. This was very insightful.


Leave a Reply

