The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

Matters Over Mind April 24, 2010

Filed under: Laughter and Lessons — Michelle Ferguson @ 6:28 pm

When I woke up this morning, my mind started racing with all things I needed to do.  “I still need to iron Lindsay’s dress for the wedding we are going to tonight.”  “Logan has his first baseball game of the season this morning.”  “Do I really want to take my morning walk?”  (Rain made that decision easy!)

Then it hit me.  “I don’t remember bringing in my groceries yesterday.”  Still in my pajamas, I fished my keys out of my purse, ran into the garage, opened my car’s trunk and discovered my three bags of groceries.  Among my purchases were a gallon of milk, a dozen eggs, and a pound of butter, all of which had been patiently sitting  in my trunk for a good sixteen hours!  It hurt me to have to pour a gallon of milk down the sink and throw a dozen beautiful brown eggs away, but that’s what happens when matters take over the mind!

I was in such a hurry yesterday afternoon to finish my task list, that once I pulled into the garage, I went straight into the house without giving another thought to the perishables in my trunk!  My mind was bombarded with things to do, and my focus was distracted by my matters.  Instead of having my mind over matters, it was matters over mind.  Has this ever happened to you?

I opened my Bible this morning and read Psalm 90:17 which says “And let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands for us; yes, establish the work of our hands.”  How timely was that truth for me!  I’m so glad God covers my shortcomings and makes me beautiful to Him, despite myself.  It is comforting to know that He will establish the work of my hands, making it all meaningful for His glory!

 

One Response to “Matters Over Mind”

  1. Karie Garner Says:

    Ohhhh…that’s a horrible feeling to leave perishable groceries in your car! We’ve all done it. At least it wasn’t chicken! LOL!


Leave a Reply

