The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

Charm of Charleston May 21, 2010

Filed under: The Ferguson Family — Michelle Ferguson @ 1:57 pm

This past weekend my children and I headed south to spend a few days with my mom.  After finishing another school year, there was no better way to celebrate than to get away and spend time with family.  My niece celebrated her fourth birthday and had a big princess party.  I’d never seen so many princesses in one place!  Even Cinderella (one of my sister’s friends) made an appearance, and each girl had her picture taken with her.  One little girl asked Cinderella if she could come to her house!  Oh, the cuteness of four-year-olds!

Mom and I took one day to take the children to see the Angel Oak Tree on John’s Island.  It’s a magnificent tree, estimated to be between 300 and 400 years old.  It is 65 feet high, and its massive branches provide over 17,000 square feet of shade!  The kids were amazed at its “bigness!”

We headed to downtown Charleston for lunch at Fleet Landing.  I ordered a Fried Green Tomato BLT, and it was delicious!  I don’t think you’d find that on the menu in New York City!  That’s the charm of Charleston!  After lunch, we walked down to the waterfront to enjoy the sights and sea breezes.  Lindsay, Logan, and Luke loved playing in the water fountain!  What a joy to watch my children thrill in the moment of carefree childhood!