The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

Spirit vs. Self July 4, 2010

Filed under: The Ferguson Family — Michelle Ferguson @ 7:35 pm

I had my week all planned out.   I was attending a three-day Classical Conversations parent conference, and my three darlings were spending the week with their grandparents.  I was going to have some “me time,” and I couldn’t have been more excited!

Then the phone rang…I answered, and my week suddenly took a turn.  I had been asked by a friend to host for three nights a mother and daughter traveling from out of town who were coming to work with the children’s camps for the Classical Conversations conference.  I would like to say that without a moment’s hesitation or any thought to my plans, I said, “Oh yes, I would love to!”  However, truth be told, I bought time with the words “I need to talk with my husband.”  This line, by the way, has become my and my husband’s first response to anyone who is asking about something that affects our calendar!  We always communicate with each other before something “big” makes it in pen on our family calendar!

I knew immediately the right thing to do, but I didn’t want to do it because of how it would “interfere” with my plans.  After all, my children were gone for the week!  My selfish nature warred with my spirit.  Isn’t that a daily battle?  As my husband and I talked, he cited an example from Scripture (ever the pastor!) where it talks about if your neighbor comes to you asking for help, you should not send him away empty-handed.  The words from the book of James flooded my heart, “Be doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving yourselves” (1:22).

God showed me that this was something I needed to do, so I gladly embraced the idea of hosting strangers.  I called my friend back and said, “Oh, yes, I would love to!”  God has so blessed us with a beautiful home and a guest bed, and I do want to use it all for His glory.  How could I be so selfish in light of all He has done for me?

Our house guests arrived late Sunday night with a surprise…an extra daughter had come as a last minute fill-in for one of the camps.  Due to their late arrival, we did not chat long the first night…just long enough to figure out that they had the right house!  Over the course of the next two nights, we were able to visit some, and I so delighted in their company.  In fact, I told them the day before they left that I wished they were our next door neighbors.  The two girls (ages 16 and 18) were mature, fun-loving, and quite the talkers!  Their mother was very kind and told wonderful stories of missionaries.  Oh what I would have been robbed of had we not hosted them!

We hardly knew they were in the house, they ate all their meals out with their friends, and my husband and I still got to go out for a movie date!  They could not have been more thankful or sweet!  I believe I was the one truly blessed by their stay!  “Do not forget to entertain strangers, for by so doing some have unwittingly entertained angels” (Hebrews 13:2).

 

Leave a Reply

