The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

Belly Mess July 13, 2010

Filed under: Laughter and Lessons — Michelle Ferguson @ 7:23 pm

My littlest son, Luke, had just had a bath.  He was clean and sweet smelling, and I knew it wouldn’t last long.  We were about to eat dinner, and pizza was on the menu!  Since all of his four pairs of pajamas were still drying in the laundry room, I encouraged him to eat without a shirt on because he’d probably get messy any way.  A belly mess is easier to clean up than a stained shirt!

During dinner, sure enough, he dropped pizza sauce right on his stomach.  I said, “See what would have happened if you’d had a shirt on?”  Luke replied, “Yeah, I wouldn’t have got sauce on my belly.”

My question reflected the fact that I did not want to deal with a stained shirt.  His answer reflected the fact that he’d rather get a shirt messy than his belly!  I rolled with laughter!  I guess there is ALWAYS a bright side to everything!

 

Leave a Reply

