The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

Today’s Adventure August 25, 2010

Filed under: Out of the Mouth of Babes — Michelle Ferguson @ 11:10 pm

Both of my boys had doctor appointments this afternoon.  Logan’s 8 year-old check up was way over due, and Luke was due for his 4 year-old check up.  Their pediatrician is wonderful, so personable with the kids, patient and kind.  He is also the one who does not give the shots!  He leaves that job to his nurse so he isn’t considered the “bad guy!”

Logan needed his second Hep A vaccination and Luke needed three immunizations (two of which were a combo of vaccines).  I opted to just have one of Luke’s given today and spread the others out over the next year.  Before the nurse came in, Logan made it clear he did not want a shot.  I told him the worst part of a shot was the anticipation of it, and that the actual shot wasn’t so bad, although it would hurt a little.  Nurse Lori came in and asked who wanted to go first.  Since Luke was sitting on the table, I suggested he go first.  She got Luke to look at me and blow like the Big Bad Wolf blew the little pig’s house down, and before he knew what hit him, a Charlie Brown and Snoopy band-aid was being stuck to his leg.  He teared up and then laughed.  He said to the nurse, “That was awesome!”  She and I started laughing and I asked her if she’d heard that before!  Then Logan had his turn, and he huffed and puffed and blew and before he knew it, he was also being bandaged up.  No tears!  Although, later he milked it for all it was worth.  His leg hurt, he couldn’t walk, he needed a leg rub, and on and on!

On the way home, we stopped by Trader Joe’s grocery store to pick up a few things (and left with more than a few things!).  The kids always enjoy looking for the stuffed animals they have hidden around the store in a Treasure Hunt.  If they find them all, they can visit the Treasure Chest for a treat.  As I circled through Produce, Luke yells and points from my cart, “Pig!”  I look up at where his finger is pointing and see a woman pushing a cart with a little girl.  I was horrified that he had just called this mom a pig!  Then I saw the stuffed pig behind her sitting with the apples.  I sure hope she didn’t think my son was calling her a pig, too!  Nah, I’m sure she knows all about the Treasure Hunt!!  Then all three ran off to the Treasure Chest (yes, even Logan!)!

Needless to say, it’s always an adventure when making an outing with my kids!

 

Leave a comment