The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

Silence is Golden November 16, 2010

Filed under: Devotions — Michelle Ferguson @ 9:46 pm

God spoke to me this morning through Job!  All of God’s word is inspired, even the Old Testament book of Job!  Job is described in his book of the Bible as a “blameless and upright” man who “feared God and shunned evil” (1:1).  This man sets a great example of faithfulness to God despite his circumstances, and through the loss of his family and mass riches, he gained and shared much wisdom.

As I was reading in Chapter 13, verse 5 struck me like a dagger in the heart:  “Oh that you would be silent, and it would be your wisdom.”  In this chapter, Job chastised his counselor friends who tried to “help” him understand his circumstances with quick judgments and hasty words.  God reminded me of how often I am too quick to judge and rattle off words, especially to my children, either before I have understanding of a situation or out of sheer frustration.

We don’t have to speak words to be wise.  A lot of times we think of a person who speaks words well as having wisdom, but Job says silence can be our wisdom.  There is a marginal note in my Woman’s Study Bible that reads “a fool speaks because he has to say something, but a wise man speaks because he has something to say.”  The one who can hold his tongue when needed is certainly wiser than one who cannot!  (And I have certainly been one to not hold my tongue when I should!)  I think a person’s words are more meaningful when they aren’t so plentiful!

Ask the Lord to give you discernment as to whether you should speak or remain silent.  There is a time and a place for words aptly spoken, but silence is golden!

 

Leave a Reply

