The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

Fully Involved December 20, 2010

Filed under: Devotions — Michelle Ferguson @ 1:27 pm

“The Lord looks down from heaven upon the children of men, to see if there are any who understand, who seek God.”  Psalm 14:2

After I read the above verse this morning, I wrote down the following questions for myself:  When God looks down on me, what does He see me doing?  Am I seeking Him?  Am I living like He wants me to?  Am I missing an opportunity to serve Him?  These questions made me evaluate myself and what I spend my time doing.  Pretty convicting, but I think if I start my day asking myself these questions, it would put a new focus on how I live.

Tonight I am taking a meal to a family that I don’t even know.  This family is the neighbor of one of my friend’s mother.  They have three children, and their precious ten year old son was diagnosed this fall with an inoperable, malignant brain tumor.  Can you imagine anything worse?

My heart absolutely breaks for this family as they struggle through this, trying to keep optimistic for their son.  When I found out from my friend about their situation, I knew I wanted to take them a meal.  It’s easy enough to take a meal to someone, but getting fully involved in their life is something altogether different.  I will pray about how God would use my family further to minister to this hurting family.

Getting involved in someone’s life demands time, and time is precious because we are so busy.  Jesus came to earth as a Baby with the world’s most important assignment, yet He made time for people.  Jesus is all about relationships, and we should be too!  Just peruse the New Testament stories of how he fully involved Himself in the lives of children, the blind, the lame, the sick, and the sinful.

Is there someone you know or a friend of a friend you have heard about who could use something you could give?  Do you know someone sitting at the hospital with a loved one who could use a homemade lunch or a friendly visit?  Do you know a family struggling financially who could use an anonymous gift?  Do you know a family who is spending Christmas without relatives and could use an invitation to Christmas dinner?  Will you be in a drive through window today and choose to pay for the order of the car behind you, just to bless them?  Do you know a missionary family who could use a care package?

You really do not have to look hard or far to find people who are lonely, struggling, and in need of a blessing from you!  Look for someone this week and be a blessing to them!  Be fully involved in someone’s life and may God look down and see us seeking and serving Him, just because we love Him!

Please share with me how you involve yourself with someone this week!  I would love to hear your story!

 

2 Responses to “Fully Involved”

  1. Betty Parker Says:

    You are definitely fully involved with raising your children and that’s the most important job you can have. I can’t imagine how you have time to do other things too. You are certainly right and you make me think. Thank you for that.

    • Michelle Ferguson Says:

      Betty, I’m so blessed, I can’t help but want to give. I’m also hoping to teach the three L’s to be givers and lovers of others!


Leave a Reply

