The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

Soup and Salad Tuesdays January 5, 2011

Filed under: Tips and Tidbits — Michelle Ferguson @ 3:40 pm

I have decided to try something new for the next couple of winter months.  Tuesday night is now our official “Soup and Salad” night.  Tuesdays are busy days for us because they are the days our Classical Conversations (CC) home school group meets.  We stay after morning classes for lunch, a missions class, and then Play Ball (a sports program).  By the time we get home, it is 3:00, and we are all tired!

To simplify dinner on Tuesday nights, I thought it would be helpful to have already planned and prepared our dinner.  On Monday night, I packed our lunches for CC and put our Tuesday dinner together.  I made a beef stew.  I sauteed our stew beef with an onion in grape seed oil on the stove top, just until lightly browned on the outside.  I chopped carrots, celery, and potatoes and added them along with spices, beef broth, and the browned beef and onions to my crock pot.  Tuesday morning, I put my crock pot on low, and our dinner simmered all day.  The house smelled delicious when we got home from CC, and I think we could have eaten dinner then!

Since dinner was ready, we could eat early (which is always a plus!).  I made a mixed greens salad with orange slices, chopped apple pear, and feta cheese.  I served our beef stew over whole grain macaroni.  The macaroni helped the stew to go further.  Now we have leftovers, enough for dinner tonight!  Our RA’s, GA’s, and Mission Friends start up again for the new year at church, so dinner will be a snap tonight, too!

I do want to share a little more on the apple pear.  I had never heard of this fruit until this week when I was shopping our local grocery super center and came across the display.  I was curious, so I bought two of them.  Well, they were an instant hit at my house!  My kids were begging for more when we all gathered to sample this strange, new fruit.  (New to us at least!)  It is a very crisp, juicy fruit, that tastes more like a pear and looks more like an apple, but is both!  It is delicious, so if you see one, try it!

I must add that my Monday night prep work was possible because my wonderful husband cleaned up the kitchen and got the children in bed.  He liked the beef stew so much that he has agreed to clean up the kitchen every night!  Wow!  What a deal!

Next week, I am going to try a potato soup in my crock pot.  I will be on the lookout in the meantime for a good recipe!

 

Leave a Reply

