The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

To Pray or Not to Pray? January 5, 2011

Filed under: Devotions — Michelle Ferguson @ 3:17 pm

As my children are eagerly and sweetly working on their school lessons this morning upstairs, I thought I’d take some time to steal away and blog.  Okay, who am I kidding?  I am sure to be interrupted a few times!  But here it goes!

“Pray without ceasing.”  1 Thessalonians 5:17

There it is…short, seemingly simple, and quite to the point!  According to the Bible, we should pray all the time.  But do we?  I wonder how many blessings I have missed because I’ve failed to pray about something.  Instead, choosing to handle the crisis, issue, or matter at hand myself, not even thinking to pray about it.

Oh, I pray about and for the big things:  my husband, our ministry, our children, our families, health and protection, missionaries and unreached people groups, our church, our childrens’ education, etc.  I pray about and for the small things:  warts to go away, self-control around chocolate, strength to get up when my alarm clock jolts me awake at 5:30, and help finding my cell phone (a conversation God and I seem to have a lot!).

But do I pray about everything in between?  If we are striving to “pray without ceasing,” I think we would be praying about everything.  I have a dear friend who is a godly prayer warrior.  When she tells me she’s praying, I know she is!  Her heart is on fire for missions and prayer.  As we visited yesterday, she shared with me a recent answered prayer.

She told me she had been praying for a small, indoor trampoline.  It was something she wanted for herself and her son for exercise and fun.  (Now if it had been me, I probably would have never thought to pray about something like this…I would have just gone out and bought one!)

As Christmas neared, my friend’s husband’s uncle drew her name for a family gift exchange.  He asked what she’d like for Christmas, and she explained that the only thing she really desired was a small trampoline.  He replied, “Oh, I’ve got one in our garage that we don’t use anymore.  I’ll pack it up and mail it to you.”

A few days later, my friend received her answered prayer in a package on her doorstep.  She rejoiced and thanked God for providing a trampoline!  Her testimony really encouraged and challenged me to pray all the time about everything.

I just love how God works!  It blows my mind what He can do if we just ask.  He has an abundant storehouse of blessings waiting to give us.  When we fail to ask God for something, we may be robbing someone that God may use in our life, of the opportunity to bless us!

Now let’s look at the surrounding verses of “pray without ceasing.”  Verse 16 says, “Rejoice always.”  Verse 17 says “in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.”  I believe if we prayed about everything we would really see God working in our lives.  I believe we would stop taking so much for granted, and I believe we would be more thankful to God from whom our blessings come!  What a reason to rejoice!

I encourage you (and myself) to pray about everything in our daily lives.  All, of course, in the right spirit, not out of greed or materialism.  God knows our hearts and He knows our intentions, motives, and true self.  We must also remember that God will not always answer us exactly as we pray, but we can be sure He hears us and will answer in His time with what is best for us!  He wants to bless us, so let’s get praying!

 

One Response to “To Pray or Not to Pray?”

  1. Betty Parker Says:

    I enjoy so much your insights and your encouragement. Keep it up. It’s a ministry also!


Leave a Reply

