The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

Chicken Tortilla Soup January 19, 2011

Filed under: Recipes Worth Sharing — Michelle Ferguson @ 12:11 am

Well, it’s Tuesday, so that means it’s Soup night.  Last night, I put this soup together and it simmered all day in my crock pot.  I just love my crock pot!

I could not find a recipe for Chicken Tortilla Soup that I completely liked, so I took the liberty to pick and choose ingredients and came up with this.  My family really liked it…good thing because it’s on the menu for tomorrow night too!

Instead of salad tonight, I served cornbread drizzled with honey.  It was made from a Trader Joe’s package mix.  It had real corn kernels in the mix and was a delicious complement to the soup.

Chicken Tortilla Soup

3-4 medium/large chicken breasts, boiled and shredded

3/4 cup frozen, diced onions

1 (15 oz) can corn

1 (15 oz) can black beans

1  (16 oz) can chili beans

1 can (28 oz) diced tomatoes

32 oz carton chicken broth

1 TBSP lemon juice

1/2 pkg Trader Joe’s taco seasoning mix

Combine all ingredients and simmer all day in crock pot.  Serve with tortilla chips, sour cream, and cheese.

Trader Joe’s taco seasoning mix is quite spicy, so I only used 1/2 a package, but even at that, this soup has a kick!  Not too spicy, though, and my kids cleaned their bowls.  Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

