The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

Chunky Italian Soup February 24, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michelle Ferguson @ 1:31 pm

I have really enjoyed making different kinds of soups for our Tuesday winter nights.  I’ve also really enjoyed the challenge of finding new recipes to try.  It’s definitely gotten me out of my comfort zone!  Another benefit to eating soup is all the vegetables that we’ve been eating!  I’ve found another recipe that my family really likes, and I wanted to share it.  A good soup recipe is a gem!  (The split pea soup I made a few weeks ago didn’t go over too well, even though I added chicken sausage to make it more appealing and carnivorous to my husband!)

Chunky Italian Soup

1 lb ground beef

1 onion, chopped (I use frozen, diced onions…best invention ever!)

28 oz can diced tomatoes

1 cup tomato soup

4 cups vegetable broth

1 TBSP basil

1 TBSP oregano

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

1 (14 oz) bag frozen sweet corn

1/2 cup frozen green beans

1 can white kidney beans

2 carrots, chopped

2 zucchini, chopped

8 oz small pasta

Brown beef with onions.  Add all other ingredients (except pasta) to crock pot and simmer on low all day, 8 hours.  Since my crock pot was filled to the brim, I could not add the pasta.  So I cooked the pasta separately and added it to our bowls to mix with the soup.  I used a small pasta called Ditalini, and it was perfect in this soup!

 

One Response to “Chunky Italian Soup”

  1. Betty Parker Says:

    I’m with Brad on the split pea soup! I’ve tried to like it & just can’t! I actually have a history & a couple of stories of split pea soup. This one sounds good, tho’. Do you leave the crock pot lid cracked a bit as the soup cooks? I’ve tried veg soup in mine & it just doesn’t “cook down” like it should in the crock pot.


Leave a Reply

