The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

Kale and Bean Soup March 2, 2011

Filed under: Recipes Worth Sharing — Michelle Ferguson @ 6:31 pm

So, last night we had Kale and Bean Soup.   When I announced this to my family, the children immediately questioned, “What is kale?”  I don’t know that I’ve ever had to describe it before, so I did some google research.  Kale is a green, leafy vegetable in the cabbage family.  It is packed with powerful antioxidant properties, therefore, highly nutritious, although cooking in the crock pot reduces the level of anti-cancer compounds.

I prepared the soup Monday night and when I pulled the crock pot out of the refrigerator Tuesday morning to put it to simmering, my boys took one look at my beautiful soup and said in glorious unison (they do not often agree), “Eeeeewwwwww!”  They just did not appreciate my efforts to provide a nutritious meal, even at the expense of slicing my finger while chopping the carrots!

I am happy to report that everyone ate their bowls of soup last night, and Logan actually confessed that it was “really good.”  Lindsay asked if we could have it again tonight, but I told her there was not enough for us all to have again for another meal, and that’s something that’s not happened all winter!

Kale and Bean Soup

2 TBSP EVOO (extra virgin olive oil)

1 lb kale, leaves pulled from stems and chopped

1 medium onion (again, I use frozen, diced onions)

2 carrots, peeled and chopped (watch the fingers)

2 garlic cloves, chopped or pressed (I omitted)

1 small bay leaf

1 tsp salt

pinch of black pepper

2 medium potatoes, peeled and chopped

4 cups chicken broth

2 cups water

1 (14 oz) can white beans, rinsed and drained (I used 2 cans of navy beans)

Optional:  diced sausage (I omitted this time)

Heat oil in heavy pot over medium heat for 30 seconds and add onion, garlic, bay leaf, salt and pepper.  Stir frequently until onion begins to brown, about 6 minutes.  Add kale, carrots, potatoes, broth, and water and cook until potatoes are tender, about 20 minutes.  Add beans and sausage and simmer, uncovered 3-4 minutes.  Discard bay leaf, adjust seasonings and serve.  (After a short simmer on the stove top without broth and water, I added the ingredients to my crock pot with broth and water and cooked all day on low.)

I found this recipe at http://www.seventhgeneration.com/

Delicious and nutritious!  Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Kale and Bean Soup”

  1. Betty Parker Says:

    I think I agree with the boys’ comment on this one. It doesn’t sound good to me – but I’m sure I would have tasted and liked it – as they did! LOL An adventurous cook, you are!

    • Michelle Ferguson Says:

      Ha ha, Betty! I know it doesn’t sound good, but it really wasn’t bad at all! You just have to remind yourself how healthy it is!


Leave a Reply

