The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

The Unsocial Network March 6, 2011

Filed under: The Ferguson Family — Michelle Ferguson @ 6:10 pm

One of my favorite past times is people watching.  I love watching parents interact with children, couples whom I presume to be on first dates, teenagers at the mall, and elderly couples taking their time.  You can tell a lot about people by just watching them for a few moments and how they speak and interact with others.  Now I am not saying that a snippet in time tells the whole picture of a person, but you can get a good idea.

Last night, Brad and I took the three L’s out for dinner.  It was inspired by Logan who told me that he really wanted to go somewhere last night (I think he was tired of being housebound due to the rain!).  Brad suggested we go to dinner, and it was not at Chick-fil-A!  We arrived at the restaurant before the typical Saturday night crowd and were seated pretty quickly.

After we placed our orders, I began to people watch.  We were seated right next to a table of five women.  Next to them was another table of five men.  I guessed that they were probably together, a group of couples out for a night of fun, women at one table, men at another.  I couldn’t help but notice something else, too.  This group of women was the quietest group of women I’d ever been around.  Then I looked closer and observed that four out of the five were on their phones, texting, surfing the web, and totally ignoring the company of each other.   I couldn’t believe it!

Brad and I began to talk about this.  He commented that what we were observing was the unsocial network.  These women were at dinner with each other to enjoy fellowship, yet their social networks trumped the ones sitting at the table with them.  If I had been that 5th woman at the table, I would have been somewhat hurt that my friends’ attentions were elsewhere.  These ladies could not even put their phones away to eat.  They sat on the table beside their plates!

Then I looked around the restaurant and at the other table beside us sat a father and young daughter.  He was playing on his phone as his daughter colored her menu.  How sad to lose the conversation with a daughter because of a gadget.  Our phones are taking over our lives!  There are certainly good things about i-phones, but they do have their place.  Their place should be back burner to a face to face conversation with a spouse, a friend, or a child.  What message is being sent when our phones demand our attention all the time?  That the people in our company are not really that important?

Be where you are!  Love and fellowship with those in your company!

 

One Response to “The Unsocial Network”

  1. Betty Parker Says:

    AMEN to that!!!!! I also recently observed a dad and daughter sitting at a table in a restaurant. He talked on his phone several times – but hardly at all to his daughter. So sad!
    I like to people-watch too & try to figure them out.


Leave a Reply

