The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

Camping and Bonding April 11, 2011

Filed under: Life in the Slow Lane — Michelle Ferguson @ 6:46 pm

When my husband came home from work on Thursday afternoon, he announced to the kids that he was taking them camping Friday night.  Excited squeals filled the air immediately!  He called our local nature preserve and reserved a tent site.  Since I love to encourage father/child bonding (and since our house with my bed was so close), I gracefully bowed out of this over nighter!

Friday morning was busy with preparations, as I watched Lindsay pack for herself and oversee her brothers’ packing!  Brad loaded the tent, chairs, air mattress, sleeping bags, pillows, water bottles, food, and other supplies into the truck and they were off.  After setting up camp, they took a hike.  On the way, Lindsay found a bird’s nest that had fallen out of a tree, complete with its cracked eggs.  Luke found a caterpillar that crawled on his arm up to his shoulder.  Logan found a walking stick (as he always manages to do!).  They fed graham crackers to fish at the water’s edge and took pictures of seashells.

I met them for dinner, but I stopped by Salsarita’s first for Mexican to go for five!  I admit that was cheating, but it sure was easy!  The kids played at the playground for a little bit, then Brad started a camp fire.  We roasted marshmallows and enjoyed each other’s company.  (Some of us like our marshmallows a little more charred than others!)  As dusk fell, I said my good nights and left them to the wild!

They came home Saturday afternoon, tired and dirtier than I’ve ever seen them!  They all had a wonderful time and made wonderful memories, and I think I have the most wonderful husband in the world!

 

One Response to “Camping and Bonding”

  1. Betty Parker Says:

    You really do have a wonderful husband – to take 3 kids camping by himself. It was probably a good thing for you to stay home and have some quiet time! LOL More memories were made!! Love it!!


Leave a Reply

