The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

The Babies are Here! May 4, 2011

Filed under: Life in the Slow Lane — Michelle Ferguson @ 7:27 pm

One of my friends came for a visit today and as she was leaving, I walked her over to my holly bush to show her the Purple Ribbon Nest with its eggs.  Well, when I carefully pulled the prickly branches aside, we found Mama Mockingbird sitting undisturbed, deeply tucked into her nest.  I was surprised she didn’t fly out at us, although thankful, because I can just imagine how loud my scream would have been!

When my friend left, I decided to show the kids that Mama Mockingbird was taking good care of her eggs, but this time when I pulled the branches back, she flew out of the bush!  That’s when Logan and I saw her eggs were no longer eggs, but two baby birds!  I couldn’t believe it!  It was exactly one week ago that I discovered the eggs, and now the babies have hatched!  The process of raising baby birds happens quickly!

Just look how content those little ones are…completely trusting the care of their Mama!  How much more so can we be confident in our Creator’s care!  Matthew 6:26 says, “Look at the birds of the air, that they do not sow, nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them.  Are you not worth much more than they?”  (emphasis mine)

Don’t you think the “twins” love their home?  I can’t help but think it has something to do with the beauty of the purple ribbon!

 

2 Responses to “The Babies are Here!”

  1. Betty Parker Says:

    There’s something SO special about watching a bird nest; then eggs; then babies; then watching them learn to fly. We need to be sure we take the time to watch. And ya’ll are doing just that. They really hatched quickly!

  2. Karie Garner Says:

    Those are absolutely precious little babies! Watch them closely every day and maybe you’ll catch them “leaving the nest!” I witnessed that early one Sunday morning a few years ago and it was amazing to watch!


Leave a Reply

