The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

Bye Bye Birdies May 14, 2011

Filed under: Life in the Slow Lane — Michelle Ferguson @ 9:49 pm

When I checked the Purple Ribbon Nest this morning, I was not met with Mama Mockingbird’s  impassioned chirping or diving passes at me, so I suspected I would find an empty nest in my holly bush, and I did!  I was not too surprised because when I peeked at the twins yesterday afternoon, they were both perched on the side of their nest.  I knew it wouldn’t be long before they would find their wings and soar off to a life of their own.   I was somewhat sad that I had not witnessed their leaving, but the most important one in their lives had…their Mama!

I’m thankful for the lessons I’ve learned over the short weeks of watching these birds, like how I often worry about things that are seemingly a threat, but only a thought (like Mama Mockingbird carrying on over my cat behind a glass door who is too scared to go outside!) and how God cares for even the smallest of His wonderful creation!  All too soon, my neighbor has moved away, but I was privileged to watch her raise her babies in the Purple Ribbon Nest!

 

One Response to “Bye Bye Birdies”

  1. Karie Garner Says:

    That is a precious picture! What beautiful wings that little baby has! What a sweet story that I have enjoyed following.


Leave a Reply

