The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

Wednesday Woes October 12, 2011

Filed under: Brad and Me Plus 3 — Michelle Ferguson @ 11:08 pm

This morning began with a start…or maybe I should say with a startle.  Before I went to bed last night, I dutifully set my alarm clock for 5:30, thinking (really hoping) that it would be raining and I would not be able to take my morning walk.  Sure enough, it was raining at 5:30, so I reset my alarm for 6:30 and quickly fell back to sleep.   The next thing I knew, it was 7:09!  Apparently, my alarm had been going off for over half an hour before I heard it.  Justifying it, I decided that I must have needed that sleep!

I planned to drop our cat Chloe off at the vet’s office between 7:30 and 8:00 this morning for a spaying surgery, so I was in a rush to shower, brush my teeth, and attempt the great cat capture.  I had been reminded earlier in the day by a phone call from the vet that Chloe could not eat or drink anything after midnight, so (knowing I would forget) I wrote myself a note!  The note worked and her food and water were taken away.  When I bounced down the stairs after my shower to look for the cat, I asked my boys, “Has anyone seen Chloe?”  Luke replied, “Oh yes, she was just right here eating breakfast!”  I looked at the pile of food on the floor Luke had so compassionately laid out for her and said, “She was not just eating…please tell me she was not eating!”  I won’t go into any more details, but my sons knew I was not pleased!  I guess I did not share my note with the boys about taking the food away…

After I called the vet to reschedule Chloe’s spaying, I called the pediatrician’s office to request that they call in eye drops for Luke’s double pink eye infection.  I also started an antibiotic pack this morning for a residual infection from a root canal I had in May (which can take up to one year to completely heal…I had no idea!).

We managed to do a decent day of school work between several errands I had to run today, although Lindsay is working with Luke right now on some leaf activities we’ve not had time for yet.  They are doing leaf rubbings and painting outlines of leaves on paper.  I told them to “paint on” because I needed to log some blog time!

This afternoon, Brad and I received a wedding invitation in the mail and we cannot figure out who it’s from!  We don’t recognize the bride’s name, her parents, or the groom!  How fun would it be to just show up…it is in Charleston!  Maybe the mystery will reveal itself in time.

I did try a new recipe for dinner.  It’s a recipe from Whole Foods called “Baked Chicken with Spinach, Pears and Blue Cheese.”  I laughed at the name of the recipe because I thought it should have some kind of fancy name like “Chicken de Bleu!”  It was pretty easy to make and quite tasty!  Lindsay loved the sauteed pears.

I’ve just heard Luke crying in the kitchen.  Lindsay said he pinched his finger.  I said, “Luke, you’re painting.  How did you pinch your finger?”  There is no end to the trauma drama around here!  I was just summoned to the kitchen to see spilled purple paint on my rug and floor.  I walked out without saying a word…

The Lord has drawn my mind continually today to James 1:19-20 which say “My dear brothers, take note of this:  Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak, and slow to become angry, for man’s anger does not bring about the righteous life that God desires.”  I’ve had lots of opportunities to practice that verse today, and I wish I could say I obeyed it well, but with God’s forgiveness and help, there is always tomorrow!

 

One Response to “Wednesday Woes”

  1. Betty Parker Says:

    WOW – what a day. I pray tomorrow will be better! I think I can help you with the wedding invitation. I’ll e-mail you.


Leave a Reply

