The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Loaf November 11, 2011

Filed under: Recipes Worth Sharing — Michelle Ferguson @ 8:45 pm

I kept a recipe from my MOPS (Mothers of Preschoolers) days for Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Loaf.  I found it in a random paper pile on my kitchen counter (you know, that good intention, pile of papers waiting for my attention!).  So yesterday, I finally made it.  I was shocked at the amount of sugar and oil, but moderation is the key!  The recipe supposedly makes one loaf, however, I felt it was too much batter for one pan, so in addition to filling one loaf pan, I filled 2 mini muffin tins with batter (making 24).

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Loaf (from mops.org)

3 cups sugar

1 cup vegetable oil (I like grapeseed oil)

3 eggs

1 (15 oz) can pumpkin

3 cups flour

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp cloves

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 bag Ghirardelli milk chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray loaf pan with non-stick cooking spray.  Mix sugar, oil, and eggs.  Add pumpkin.  Blend in flour, salt, spices, soda and powder.  Fold in chocolate chips.  Bake 45 minutes.**   Cool and remove from pan.

**If you make mini muffins, they cook in 15 minutes.

Enjoy this delicious and fragrant fall treat!  Double the recipe and take a loaf to a neighbor!

 

2 Responses to “Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Loaf”

  1. Karie Garner Says:

    This is the same exact recipe I use! I got it from Bon Appetit magazine years ago. I only use 2 cups of sugar and it still tastes plenty sweet. Try it like that next time!

    • Michelle Ferguson Says:

      Karie, I actually did use about 1/2 cup less sugar but I will definitely try it again using only 2 cups! Good idea! I can’t believe we have the same recipe!


Leave a Reply

