The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

One Hundred One March 20, 2012

Filed under: Laughter and Lessons — Michelle Ferguson @ 7:54 pm

Yesterday we celebrated the 100 day milestone of filling Luke’s number chart up to 100.  I gave him $1 (representing 100 pennies) to spend at the Dollar Store.  He bought gum!

So this morning, his job was to add number “one hundred one” to his chart.  I asked, “How do you write one hundred one?”  He confidently said, “Like this.”  And he wrote:  “1001.”  I laughed hysterically, took a picture of it, then explained that one hundred one is written like this:  “101.”  I’m not quite sure he gets it yet, but he’ll work into it.  I really see why he wrote it the way he did…100…and then a 1!!  I thought a discussion on place value would be too advanced, so we’ll wait for another time!  Kids are so cute!!

 

One Response to “One Hundred One”

  1. Betty Parker Says:

    Makes perfect sense to me! 🙂


Leave a Reply

