The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

Plans for the Future March 20, 2012

Filed under: Laughter and Lessons — Michelle Ferguson @ 7:33 pm

So, the other day I asked Logan this question:  “Logan, where do you see yourself in ten years?”  That’s a loaded question for a 9 year old!  The whole time I’m trying to get an idea of his college plans.

He pretty quickly (too quickly) responded:  “Well, I’ll be 19 then (at which point, I sigh).”  He continued, “I see myself driving.  Driving a corvette!”  Oh my!

Then I asked Lindsay the same question.  She said, “I’ll be about to graduate from college in ten years (at which point, I double sigh), but I don’t know what college I want to go to yet.”  That’s my girl!

Of course, then I asked 5 year old Luke what his plans were for 10 years down the road.  I am sure he’s just thinking about what’s for lunch and about playing outside afterwards.  I reminded him that when he is fifteen, he will be an only child living at home with Mama and Daddy while big sister and brother are off at college.  He said, “I’ll live at home with Mama.”  May that not be what he says when he’s 30!

Our Bible verse this morning in our study of the book of James was chapter 4:14 which says, “Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.”  We had a great discussion about making the most of our lives for the Lord while he has us here.  In the big picture of roughly 6,000 years of history (my young-earther belief), our lives are like a mist, here then gone.  I encouraged my children to use their time wisely, be thankful and enjoy every day, make an impact in this world for Christ, and to love all the people the Lord brings across their paths (even the difficult ones!).

None of us knows what the future holds, but it’s fun to talk and dream!  We must remember to make our plans as the Lord wills and leads.  He alone holds the future in His hands, and we can put our confidence in His plan for our lives!

 

 

 

 

One Response to “Plans for the Future”

  1. Betty Parker Says:

    And that’s what gives us peace that passes understanding. What a good question to ask children – gets them to thinking & lets us see into them a bit.


Leave a Reply

