The Mommy Bloggy

Reflections of a Mother's Heart

Spelling Lessons May 17, 2012

Filed under: Homeschooling — Michelle Ferguson @ 8:26 pm

Last week while my daughter was taking a spelling test, she commented, “I know all the letters, I just don’t know the right order.”  Not very encouraging to a homeschool mom…sigh…

Today, my son (who is sometimes a better speller than his sister, despite being two years younger) wrote “afishils” in a report he is doing on the state of Pennsylvania.  Sounding it out, I figured it was supposed to be “officials.”  I had to laugh…I guess those phonics lessons have paid off??

These times remind me that life has a new lesson every day.  We are never in a place where we know everything.  I would like to think I learn something new every day, but I must be intentional in doing this.  I read books on parenting, homeschooling, being a godly wife, and books just for fun, of course!  I peruse blogs of like-minded people, and I skim our local weekly “Times” paper and FOX News.com to catch up on the latest news.  My Bible is my main source of teaching, rebuking, correcting, and training me in righteousness (2 Timothy 3:16).

A teachable spirit is key to classroom lessons as well as life lessons.  It is a great character trait to develop, and I try to encourage my kids to persevere and learn from their mistakes.  After all, mistakes have lead to the greatest of discoveries (like ice cream cones, potato chips, silly putty, and Post-It Notes!).

 

One Response to “Spelling Lessons”

  1. Betty Parker Says:

    Hmmm – I really like those mistakes!! Love Logan’s spelling – I figured it out. I hope they’re teaching phonics in public schools again. Hope I can continue learning, but I must make an effort to do so.


Leave a Reply

